Indonesian Adventures Part 1: diving Komodo… and maybe moving there?

Recently, I spent a week diving Komodo National Park, Indonesia. The purpose of the trip was to find a location to do my Dive Master Training (DMT), the first level of professional diving.

I have decided to take a break from my legal/human rights career to become a Dive Master – something I have wanted to do for a long time! I’m fairly certain that the 6-week training – and the opportunity to then work as a Dive Master – will be the adventure of a lifetime…

Komodo National Park

But pausing my career is not a decision I take lightly.

Yet, it’s one that I doubt I will regret as it provides an opportunity to do something that makes me happy on a daily basis. Life’s too short not to take these opportunities… right?

So first, I need to make some decisions about my DMT:

  1. What country?
  2. What type of diving – i.e. which body of water with what animals?
  3. Which dive centre?

There are many dive centres around the world, and certainly hundreds in Thailand. But I want to find the perfect combination of incredible diving, challenging conditions, and good instructors… and I’m willing to travel the region until I find it! Ahhh the sacrifices we make for our passions 🙂

So that’s the background to my trip to Indonesia… Find all of those things… and move there!

And I think I may have found them as Komodo absolutely blew my mind! The diving was incredible and the resort I stayed in was wonderful… certainly a potential new home.

The best part, was the diversity of marine life and lack of tourists. Dive sites in my country of residence – Thailand – have been swallowed by tourism. In total contrast, Komodo remains largely untouched by tourist interference… Komodo provides a veritable aquarium of manta rays, sharks, dolphins and much… much more! So much to explore…

I think I’ll have to move here!

12088154_10153591711194647_2190195508915861044_n
Diving with Mantas… so … many… Mantas!
2 thoughts on “Indonesian Adventures Part 1: diving Komodo… and maybe moving there?

Leave a Reply

